_DSC7610 copy.jpg
2019: Andrew Wong, Branden Sorbo, Molly MacLeay, Ginny Hsiang, An-Te Chu (Coach)

The debate competition is a Canadian parliamentary style debate – with one team as side government and the other, side opposition. Each team consists of four members, and is provided with thirty minutes to prepare arguments for the given resolution. The two competing teams are assigned a role, Side Government or Side Opposition, which determines how they must outline their resolution. Three of the four members are given speaking roles, and speeches range between five and seven minutes, whereas the fourth team member acts as a note-taker.